The Georgian Harpsichord and the Three Elizabeths

Sunday 20 February, 3.00pm

Masumi Yamamoto, harpsichord

The Georgian period saw many rapid changes to society and shaped an idea of modern Britain that still resonates today. As a growing international power, the cultural influence of the British institutions became subject of admiration worldwide. The British Museum, Royal Academy and the Encyclopaedia Britannica all date back to the mid 18th century.

It was in this dynamic era, prior to which women’s music-making was confined to domestic settings, that the first works for harpsichord published by women composers saw the light of day. This programme presents works by three Elizabeth's: Elisabetta de Gambarini (1730-1765) , Elizabeth Turner (d.1756) and Elizabeth Hardin(1750-1780) . These composers’ delightful harpsichord works were all published between 1748 and 1770 and thus represent one of the most dynamic periods in the shaping of our country.

Elisabetta de Gambarini Tambourin in F Major

Elizabeth Turner Lesson I in G Minor

Elisabetta de Gambarini Andante in G Minor

Cariglion: Allegro

(Gigue) in G Major

Sonata III in F Major

Elizabeth Hardin Lesson II in A Major

Elizabeth Turner Lesson V in A Major

Elisabetta de Gambarini Menuet and Variations in A Major

Beyond the Northern Star

Sunday 20 February, 6.00pm


Yu-Wei Hu, flute

Johan Löfving, theorbo

Masumi Yamamoto, harpsichord

When Johan Helmich Roman decided to leave his native Sweden at the very peak of his career, his eyes were set on the musical heartlands of what today is Germany and Italy. During a few years in the 1730s, he was to embark on a Grand Tour and experience the very latest musical styles and innovations, shaping his own creative output for the remainder of his life. Having already worked in Handel’s London as a young man, Roman was certainly no stranger to the value of international influence.

Our programme celebrates this wide variety of musical styles and their influence on Roman’s music, placing his works alongside those of J.S. Bach, whose dear elder brother, Johann Jacob, sat next to Roman during his formative years in the Royal Court Orchestra. Johann Jacob Bach had left his younger brother to join the army band of Swedish King Charles XII and eventually ended up in Stockholm. Johann Sebastian wrote his Capriccio on the departure of a Beloved Brother on Johann Jacob's Swedish excursion and it is only for us to marvel at the wonderful coincidences History throws at us!

Johan Helmich Roman Sonata II in D major for flute and basso continuo, BeRI 202

Johann Sebastian Bach Suite in G major for cello solo, BWV 1007 (arranged for theorbo)

Sonata in B minor for flute and obbligato harpsichord, BWV 1030

Andante from Sonata in e minor, BWV 1034

Capriccio BWV 992

Anna Bon Sonata for flute and basso continuo, Op.1 No.4